Aller au contenu principal
Il semble que vous utilisez Internet Explorer 11 ou une version antérieure. Ce site Web fonctionne mieux avec les navigateurs modernes tels que les dernières versions de Chrome, Firefox, Safari et Edge. Si vous continuez avec ce navigateur, vous pouvez vo
Commencer sa recherche en consultant des ouvrages de référence permet de se familiariser avec son sujet et d'avoir accès à de l'information factuelle. De plus, ils permettent de repérer des références d'ouvrages supplémentaires et des auteurs traitant du sujet choisi grâce à leurs bibliographies étoffées.
Sur cette page, vous trouverez une sélection d'ouvrages de référence disponibles via le Service des bibliothèques et archives de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Pour trouver des documents en lien avec votre besoin, n'hésitez pas à faire une recherche dans Sofia, à aller directement à la section Référence de la bibliothèque Roger-Maltais (cotes B...), ou à contacter votre bibliothécaire.
Banques de données et sites web
Sage Knowledge est une collection d'encyclopédies multidisciplinaires de langue anglaise en format électronique.
135 000 définitions, 90 000 articles, 92 000 synonymes...
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Grâce à sa couverture mondiale, l'Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World fournit des informations sur les principaux développements mondiaux de 1750 à nos jours, en accordant une attention particulière aux sujets sociaux, économiques, culturels et politiques. L'encyclopédie contient des articles sur les événements mondiaux, les pays, les organisations, les régions, les groupes ethniques et des thèmes tels que l'histoire sociale, la démographie, la vie familiale, la politique, l'économie, la religion, la pensée, l'éducation, la science, la technologie et la culture. -- site de l'éditeur (traduit)
Encyclopédie générale de langue française couvrant l'ensemble des domaines de la connaissance.
Classiques des sciences sociales (Les)
La mission de la bibliothèque est de donner accès gratuitement aux œuvres en sciences sociales et humaines de langue française. Les Classiques des sciences sociales s’inscrivent ainsi dans une longue tradition de partage du savoir et constituent une tribune extraordinaire pour les recherches francophones. -- Site web de l'éditeur
Ouvrages de références généraux
Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements par
New religious movements--commonly known as cults--are defined as organizations that have arisen within the last 200 years. Most treatments of these movements have typically resorted to sensationalism rather than objectivity, and New religious movements tend to receive negative media publicity. Despite their unfavorable portrayal in popular culture, however, new religious movements are a global phenomenon and much remains to be studied about these movements. In this newly updated second edition of the Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements, George D. Chryssides traces the rise and development of new religious movements throughout the world. An updated introduction summarizes the phenomenon of new religious movements and lays out the changes to the dictionary since the 2001 edition, while the main body of the dictionary consists of close to 600 cross-referenced entries on key figures, ideas, themes, and places related to various new religious movements. An index organizes the information in the dictionary, and a comprehensive bibliography leads the researcher to further sources. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about new religious movements.
Cote: En ligne
A Popular Dictionary of Islam par
Both a dictionary and a glossary of terms that attempts to cover the entire field of Islam. Also included are brief biographies of eminent Muslims and Islamic scholars throughout the ages, providing a ready reference to authorities normally cited.
Cote: En ligne
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology par
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Cote: En ligne
Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture Across History [2 Volumes] par
Across the span of human history, women have participated in world-building and life-sustaining cultural creativity, making enormous contributions to religion and spirituality. In the contemporary period, women have achieved greater equality, with more educational opportunities, female role models in public life, and opportunities for religious expression than ever before. Contemporaneously with this increased visibility, women are actively and energetically engaging with religion for themselves and for their communities. Drawing on the expertise of a range of scholars, this reference chronicles the religious experiences of women across time and cultures. The book includes sections on major religions as well as on spirituality, African religions, prehistoric religions, and other broad topics. Each section begins with an introduction, followed by reference entries on specialized subjects along with excerpts from primary source documents. The entries provide numerous suggestions for further reading, and the book closes with a detailed bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions par
"To all who love the God with a 1000 names and respect science" In the last quarter century, the academic field of Science and Theology (Religion) has attracted scholars from a wide variety of disciplines. The question is, which disciplines are attracted and what do these disciplines have to contribute to the debate? In order to answer this question, the encyclopedia maps the (self)-identified disciplines and religious traditions that participate or might come to participate in the Science and Religion debate. This is done by letting each representative of a discipline and tradition answer specific chosen questions. They also need to identify the discipline in relation to the Science and Religion debate. Understandably representatives of several disciplines and traditions answered in the negative to this question. Nevertheless, they can still be important for the debate; indeed, scholars and scientists who work in the field of Science and Theology (Religion) may need knowledge beyond their own specific discipline. Therefore the encyclopedia also includes what are called general entries. Such entries may explain specific theories, methods, and topics. The general aim is to provide a starting point for new lines of inquiry. It is an invitation for fresh perspectives on the possibilities for engagement between and across sciences (again which includes the social and human sciences) and religions and theology. This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work for scholars interested in the topic of 'Science and Religion.' It covers the widest spectrum possible of academic disciplines and religious traditions worldwide, with the intent of laying bare similarities and differences that naturally emerge within and across disciplines and religions today. The A-Z format throughout affords easy and user-friendly access to relevant information. Additionally, a systematic question-answer format across all Sciences and Religions entries affords efficient identification of specific points of agreement, conflict, and disinterest across and between sciences and religions. The extensive cross-referencing between key words, phrases, and technical language used in the entries facilitates easy searches. We trust that all of the entries have something of value for any interested reader. Anne L.C. Runehov and Lluis Oviedo
Cote: En ligne
The SAGE encyclopedia of the sociology of religion
SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion examine le rôle de la religion dans la société, analyse et évalue l'importance de la religion dans l'histoire de l'humanité et retrace et décrit les forces et influences sociales qui façonnent la religion. - traduction libre du résumé de l'éditeur.
Cote: En ligne
Companion Encyclopedia of Theology par
The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology provides a comprehensive guide to modern theological thought. An international team of theologians and practitioners of both the Christian and Jewish faiths investigate and consider aspects of theology in 48 self-contained articles. Neither partisan and denominational, nor detached and abstract, this Companion explores the resources and applications of theology in the light of Christianity's place in the modern world. The Structure The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology is divided into six parts. The first three deal with major foundational aspects of Western theological reflection: * the Hebrew and Christian Bible * the Tradition * the contribution of Philosophy The second half of the Companion is concerned with application: * in relation to Spirituality * in relation to contemporary Ethics * in relation to issues in and aspects of present-day theological construction The 48 essays are descriptive, informative and analytical; their wide-ranging content is bound into a unified perspective by the editors' general introduction and the introductions to each of the six parts. At the end of each article, there are suggestions for further reading and the work is concluded with a comprehensive index. This Companion Encyclopedia is a valuable source of reference for students, teachers and both lay and clerical practitioners of Christian and Jewish theology. Key Features * Broad Coverage - contains 48 in-depth essays covering both the history and application of Western theological thought * International Authorship - written in non-technical language by a distinguished team of editors and authors from both Christian and Jewish faiths * Balanced Approach - discusses and analyses the key issues without imposing any single viewpoint * Clearly Presented - at the end of each article, there are suggestions for further reading and the work contains a comprehensive index
Cote: En ligne
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism par
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Second Edition, is a thoroughly updated and expanded edition of the original, highly regarded reference work. Nearly 100,000 words of new material has been added, along with fully updated original entries, expanded coverage, and multimedia elements (audio and video clips, links to primary documents and more) accompany the electronic version. New entries will explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered. Two dozen entries on significant recent events - such as the London bombings, Chechen attacks on Russian interests, and the rescue of Ingrid Bettancourt - and some 60 additional new entries will restore the work as an up-to-the-minute, natural first-stop for researchers.
Cote: En ligne
Encyclopedia of Religion in America par
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. nbsp; Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day. The broad multidisciplinary coverage includes the religious life of indigenous peoples, specific aspects of religious life, and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. nbsp; Topics include: Religion as an influential force in the U.S. Methods of worship Religion and politics Homosexuality and religion African American religion Arts and architecture Church-state issues Education Environment and ecology Ethnicity Evangelicals Faiths Gay and lesbian issues Historical overviews Immigration Media (new and old) Megachurches Movements and denominations New religious movements Popular religion and culture Race and racism Religious thought Religious Right Rites Role of women Terrorism and war nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America is an essential resource for students and scholars researching issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It reflects new scholarly research and interpretation that have emerged over the last two decades, as well as significant new areas of study, such as post-9/11 America, the role of gays and lesbians in church, gender, and the role of the evangelicals in American political life.
Cote: En ligne
Autres types d'ouvrages
American Religions par
The evolution of religious diversity and complexity in the United States is explained clearly in this richly illustrated historical work.
Cote: En ligne